The long wait is finally over – BCCI announces the 15-member squad for Team India for the ICC World Cup 2019

0 4

Today BCCI announced the 15-member Team India for the ICC World Cup 2019. The Indian Selectors dropped Ambati Rayudu and Rishabh Pant.

KL Rahul, Dinesh Karthik, Vijay Shankar and Ravindra Jadeja are the the lucky ones who have been selected for the squad. People from all over the country have come forward to congratulate the team on social media. Where some found Vijay Shankar to be the luckiest of the lot as his name came up at the end but he was selected, and some praised the Selectors for choosing a balanced team.

Karthik was considered to be a better option over Rishabh Pant as the former has been a consistent performer and best suited to handle pressure whereas Pants’ game has seen mixed performances as many times he is unable to carry on and finish the game.

Vijay Shankar was chosen over Ambati Rayudu as Shankar has showcased superior bowling and fielding skills. Chairman of Selectors MSK Prasad confirmed that Shankar will be batting at the fourth position for the team. The Selectors said, “Over the years, Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav have helped us win alot of games. Jadeja brings in variety among the spinner. The wicket might get drier as the tournament goes on and that is the reason why Jadeja has been picked.”


Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (Vice- captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Vijay Shankar, MS Dhoni, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja and Mohammed Shami


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.