Fri, 25 Mar 2022

IPL 2022: CSK Captaincy Stint In Numbers!!


CSK on Thursday announced that "MS Dhoni has decided to hand over the leadership of Chennai Super Kings and picked Ravindra Jadeja to lead the team," the franchisee wrote in an official release.

"Dhoni will continue to represent Chennai Super Kings this season and beyond," the release added. Dhoni had led CSK since the inaugural edition of the IPL in 2008, making him the longest-serving captain for any team in the league's history.

Not only did Dhoni lead the team for a long period, but he also helped them become one of the most successful teams in the IPL.

Here are some stats on Dhoni's stint as CSK captain in the IPL:

Matches: 190

Runs: 4172

Sixes: 189

Strike Rate: 137.50

Half-centuries: 21

Catches: 108

Stumpings: 32

Dhoni-led CSK to four IPL titles, helping them win two Champions League T20 trophies.

CSK had a back-to-back winning title when they won in 2010 and 2011. Mumbai Indians followed up their successful 2019 season with another title in 2020. Dhoni made CSK the most consistent team in the tournament

The consistency is reflected in the fact that they have the highest average league position of 2.67. MI is next best, at 3.36.