Updated: Sep 24, 2022, 11:32 IST

India equals Pakistan’s record of most T20I wins in a calendar year!!


After defeating Australia, India matched Pakistan's record for most T20I victories in a year. At the second game of a three-game series in Nagpur, the Men in Blue defeated Australia by six wickets.

Due to the muddy outfield, the game was shortened to eight overs each side. India elected to bowl first after winning the toss, and the Australians started off quickly. Cameron Green was nevertheless fired by Axar Patel. Additionally, he removed Glenn Maxwell and Tim David from the game.

Although Jasprit Bumrah, who was making a comeback, removed Aaron Finch, Matthew Wade's 20-ball 43 helped Australia reach 90/5.

Rohit Sharma gave a commanding answer. Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, and KL Rahul were all dismissed by Adam Zampa.

Hardik Pandya was unable to make much of an impact, but Sharma continued to play his shots and had assistance from Dinesh Karthik, who blasted a six and four to end the game.

The Men in Blue's victory allowed them to tie Pakistan's record for most T20I victories in a calendar year. In 2021, the Men in Green had amassed 20 victories.

India will have a chance to break the record when they take on Australia on Sunday.