Tue, 16 Nov 2021

ICC announces tournament schedule, India to host 3 new events while Pakistan to host Champions Trophy in 2025

ICC announces schedule for the next decade

The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the schedule of men's cricket ICC tournaments for the next decade. ICC took to Twitter and shared the schedule for the ICC events. India will host three major ICC tournaments in the upcoming decade while Pakistan will get to host the Champions Trophy in 2025.

The aforesaid ICC events include four upcoming T20 World Cup editions, two 50-over World Cups, and two Champions Trophies.

The ICC schedule marks its beginning in 2024. After the 2022 T20 World Cup in Australia and the 2023 50-over World Cup in India, USA and the West Indies will host the 2024 T20 World Cup. In the following year, Pakistan will host the Champions Trophy. 

India and Sri Lanka, in 2026, will co-host the 2026 T20 World Cup and in the very next year, in 2027, the 50-over World Cup will take place in Africa as Zimbabwe, Nambia, and South Africa will co-host the marquee event.

In October 2028 the T20 World Cup will be played in Australia and New Zealand and 12 months later India will host the Champions Trophy.

In 2030, England will share T20 World Cup hosting duties with Ireland and Scotland. It will be the first time since 1999 that Ireland and Scotland have hosted a major global cricket event.

The final scheduled event, in October/November 2031, will be the Men’s Cricket World Cup, played in India and Bangladesh.