Sun, 14 Nov 2021

The ball's in Rahul Dravid's court on determining who will lead India in ODI format - Rohit or Virat

India vs New Zealand

With Rahul Dravid taking up the responsibilties of the head coach of the Indian team, the new coach is set to play an important role in determining who will lead the team in One Day Internationals. Dravid is supposed to determine whether a change in required in ODI captaincy as well after Rohit Sharma taking over as T20I captain. For now, Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli are the T20I and ODI skippers but white-ball split captaincy isn’t something that selectors prefer.

The upcoming series against New Zealand holds utmost importance in terms of captaincy, as Rohit Sharma is set to lead Team India as his first assignment as the full-time T20I skipper. Although, he has previously captained the side, including the famous Nidahas Trophy win back in 2018 in Sri Lanka.

Team India is scheduled to play a three-match T20I series and two Tests against New Zealand as their next assignment. Many players including Virat Kohli has been rested for the T20 series while Kohli will also be rested in the first Test.

Rohit’s opening partner, KL Rahul, will serve as the vice-captain in the T20I series.

India’s T20I squad against New Zealand:

RohitSharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, Mohd. Siraj.

India’s Test squad against New Zealand:

Ajinkya Rahane (Captain), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara (vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), KS Bharat (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Axar Patel, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Md. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna.