IPL 2021: DC, SRH tie at 159, DC beats SRH in Super Over

MA Chidambaram stadium witnessed yet another brilliant performance as Delhi Capitals defeat Sunrisers Hyderbad in the 20th match of the Indian Permier League. A first for the 14th edition of IPL, the match witnessed a tie after a thrilling performance by Kane Williamson and Jagadeesha Suchith who scored vital boundaries in the final two overs but Rabada somehow managed to defend the target. They needed 16 to win and SRH got 15 leading to the Super Over.

Image credit : Sportstar
IPL 2021: DC, SRH tie at 159, DC beats SRH in Super Over

The day’s play began with Delhi winning the toss and opting to bat first. With a power-packed opening Prithvi Shaw smashed a brilliant half-century with his 53 off 39 balls, an innings that comprised of 7 fours and one six. Shaw’s opening partner Shikhar Dhawan too helped built a strong foundation with 28 off 26 balls. The line of brilliant performance doesn’t end there as Rishabh Pant added 37 to the count followed by Steve Smith who remained unbeaten with his 34 runs. The bowling department too played a vital role as Avesh Khan grabbed 3 wickets, Axar Patel dismissed two while Amit Mishra took a single.

On the other hand, Sunrisers lost David Warner too early into the innings, however, Jonny Bairstow (38 off 18 balls) and Kane Williamson (66* off 51 balls) together helped the side match Delhi’s bowling attack. Williamson together with Jagadeesha Suchith helped take the total to a tie leading to a Super Over. SRH could score only 15 runs in the last over as the match moved to a Super Over. Kane Williamson remains unbeaten with 66 off 51 balls while Suchith played quite a cameo, 15 off just 6.

However, with every intention to get their second win but SRH lost the Super Over by a thin margin.

IPL 2021: DC, SRH tie at 159, DC beats SRH in Super Over

Axar Patel led the charge for Delhi in the Super Over with Kane Williamson and David Warner on the crease. The bowler conceded just seven from his six deliveries, which included a boundary by Kane Williamson. 

Rashid Khan conceded 2 runs in the first two balls then Rishabh Pant hit a boundary. He came back with a dot then Rishabh took a single. The winning run was taken by Dhawan on the last ball beating SRH in the Super Over.

Similar Posts