Rohit Sharma’s dismissal in the on-going match between India and West Indies attracts another controversy as the third umpire concluded Rohit Sharma as out on Kemar Roach’s length delivery in the sixth over of India’s innings.
Indian opener Rohit Sharma walked off the field in great disappointment at the Trafford stadium in Manchester in a group stage match against West Indies on Thursday.
Rohit Sharma started off on a fine pace, hitting a fantastic six and a boundary in first six overs, but to his great dismay he got into trouble on Kemar Roach’s ball that sneaked through Rohit’s bat and pad and landed to wicket-keeper Shai Hope.
There was definite noise at the stump but the on-field umpire Richard Illingworth wasn’t much interested and ruled it not-out. West Indies convinced, send it upstairs for the third umpire Michael Gough to make the call.
DRS reply on the big screen showed a spike on the Snicko as the ball crossed the bat but didn’t give clear evidence whether the ball brushed the bat or the pad of the batsman. After several replays, the third Umpire ruled it as out.
However, the umpires’ decision was not taken well and failed to convince the watcher. The incident attracted many views. Commentator Sanjay Manjrekar was quick to point out that the visuals didn’t prove anything definite. He said, “I would have taken a little bit of time to be absolutely sure. The batsman didn’t think so. The bowler was absolutely confident. There was definitely pad involved but was there any bat at all?”
Many fans turned to social media to criticize the umpires’ decision.